About Me

I'm an author and arts administrator living in New England with my family and pugs. I'm also a caffeine addict and voracious reader. My latest middle grade fantasy novel, THE STAR SHEPHERD, is available now from Sourcebooks Young Readers!

Sign up for My Email List!

Next Event

Jan
11
Sat
2020
3:00 pm HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
Jan 11 @ 3:00 pm
HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
Join me to celebrate the launch of my next book, HOLLOW DOLLS (the start of a companion series to SHADOW WEAVER), at the Toadstool Bookshop in my hometown of Nashua, NH!

On the Blog

Search Me

giveaway

TWIN DAGGERS Cover Reveal!!

I’m beyond thrilled to share the cover for TWIN DAGGERS, my debut young adult novel and the first book in a new fantasy duology set in a world of magic versus machines!!! PLUS I’m giving away a Signed ARC at the end of this post!

Twin Daggers has been a long time in the making. I began writing this book back in 2012, and it’s been that book of my heart, the between-contracts-guilty-writing-pleasure ever since. In short, I adore this story, these characters, this fantasy world so very much and it’s lived in my head for a very long time. I’m so grateful that this book will finally be out on bookshelves and to all those who’ve had a hand in bringing it there (in particular my agent Suzie Townsend and editor Hannah VanVels!).

Thanks so much to Blink YA and designer Faceout Studio for crafting a phenomenal cover to kick off this new series. It perfectly captures the idea of magic versus technology that’s at the core of the book and so many other fantastic elements. The machinery motif! The daggers that represent the main characters! The swooshes of magic! I love how dynamic the design feels too, how it evokes a feeling of perpetual motion. As an author, seeing your book cover for the first time is one of the best/scariest things, and they did such an incredible job – my jaw dropped when it appeared in my inbox! I hope you love it too!

So without further ado……

 

 

 

 

……

 

 

 

 

…..

 

 

 

 

…..

 

 

 

 

…..

 

Twin Daggers Cover

About the Book

Aissa’s life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they’re on a mission for revenge. 

This action & adventure spy thriller—a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly—is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession!

By day, Aissa and Zandria play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless, and kidnap her. Born without a working heart, the Heartless survive with a mechanical replacement.

Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she’s never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties—and missions—and deciding whether or not it’s worth risk everything on getting help from her sworn enemies.

Win a Signed ARC of TWIN DAGGERS!

The giveaway will run from today through midnight EST Saturday November 30, 2019 and is open internationally. One winner will be selected. Good luck!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Speak up:

comment

| TAGS:

, , ,

BIRTHDAY BASH GIVEAWAY 2018!

Usually, May does not sneak up on me. But this year, I just don’t understand how it’s already my favorite month of the year. Wasn’t it January and snowing only yesterday?

Anyway, May is the best. It’s warm and sunny and it also includes my birthday (today!!) which means there will be lots of cake (and I really, really love cake). It also brings my annual tradition of throwing a little party here on ye olde blog to celebrate. 🙂 And what’s a party without your friends? And gifts?

This year I’m giving away two duologies!

1) Mindy McGinnis’s amazing YA fantasy duology, GIVEN TO THE SEA and GIVEN TO THE EARTH.

2) My own MG fantasy duology, SHADOW WEAVER and an ARC of COMET RISING (cover reveal coming soon!).

The giveaway will run from today through midnight EST Tuesday May 22, 2018 and is open internationally. One winner will be selected for each duology. So, grab a slice of cake, put on a party hat, and enter to win. Good luck! 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Please note: The COMET RISING ARC will be mailed to the winner once I’ve received them. It may be a few weeks, but it will get there, I promise!

Speak up:

1 comment

| TAGS:

,

Birthday Bash Giveaway 2017!

Oh hey, guess what? It’s MAY. My favorite month for a variety of reasons, but it never hurts that it also contains my birthday (which happens to be today! Yay!). 2017 has been a largely weird and unpleasant year so far for the world, but it’s still important to celebrate the little things that make you happy (otherwise life might get overwhelmingly depressing).

So, since it’s become an annual tradition, I’m celebrating my birthday here on the blog! And what’s a party without your friends? And gifts?

This year, I’m giving away some fabulous new books by my awesome critique partners! Enter the raffle below to win a new hardcover of Mindy McGinnis’s riveting fantasy GIVEN TO THE SEA or Riley Redgate’s gender-bending a capella-themed NOTEWORTHY! I’m also throwing a signed ARC* of my next book SHADOW WEAVER into the mix just for fun 🙂

 

The giveaway will run from today through midnight EST Monday May 22, 2017 and is open internationally. One winner will be selected for each prize. So, grab a slice of cake, put on a party hat, and enter to win. Good luck! 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Please note: The SHADOW WEAVER ARC will be mailed to the winner once I’ve received my ARCs. It may be a few weeks, but it will get there, I promise!

Speak up:

1 comment

| TAGS:

,

Giveaway Winners & Birthday Shenanigans!

Thanks so much to everyone who entered the pre-order giveaway! The winners are….

*drumroll*

 

Congrats! I’ll be in touch via email soon to arrange the pre-orders! 🙂

birthday-imageIf you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ve probably figured out that May is my favorite month of the year. It’s spring! There’s flowers! There’s sun! It’s actually warm! It also happens to be my birthday today. Last year, I came down with the flu (BOOOOO), but this one is looking up. I’ll be heading to Boston with my best friend for a day of shenanigans involving tacos, modern art, cupcakes, and possibly sharks. (Fair warning: there will probably be lots of silly tweets. Because that’s just what happens when me and the BFF go on an adventure. It’s like a law of the universe.)

Anyhoo, good times shall be had.

And, finally, what kind of MK birthday would it be without Muppets? (Seriously, this is annual tradition. I might be a little obsessed with the Muppets. I’m completely fine with this.) Enjoy!

Speak up:

comment

| TAGS:

, ,

New Website Digs! Plus, Birthday Giveaway!

I thought it was about time that I freshen up the look of MarcyKate.com because of this whole book-coming-out-next-year thing and all 🙂 And the truly awesome Tessa at PopColor Web Design did a fabulous job! (seriously, she’s awesome, and extremely patient, even if you’re crazy nitpicky like me. Cannot recommend her highly enough!)

Since my birthday is in May, and this is pretty much a present to myself, I thought we should have a little party. And what’s a party without your friends? And gifts?

So I’m giving away a pre-order of two of my critique partners’ books: IN A HANDFUL OF DUST by Mindy McGinnis (releases 9/23/2014) and STITCHING SNOW by RC Lewis (releases 10/14/14).  Trust me, you WANT THESE BOOKS. (And no, these are not ARCs, but the final editions. Yes, you have to wait a few months to have them in hand, but they are totally worth it, I promise!)

The giveaway will run from today 5/1 through 5/15. Then I’ll draw one winner for each book on May 16, my birthday.

So take a look around, have some cake, and join the fun 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Speak up:

7 comments

| TAGS:

, ,