About Me

I'm an author and arts administrator living in New England with my family and pugs. I'm also a caffeine addict and voracious reader. My latest middle grade fantasy novel, THE STAR SHEPHERD, is available now from Sourcebooks Young Readers!

Sign up for My Email List!

Next Event

Jan
11
Sat
2020
3:00 pm HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
Jan 11 @ 3:00 pm
HOLLOW DOLLS Launch Party! @ Toadstool Bookshop
Join me to celebrate the launch of my next book, HOLLOW DOLLS (the start of a companion series to SHADOW WEAVER), at the Toadstool Bookshop in my hometown of Nashua, NH!

On the Blog

Search Me

TWIN DAGGERS Cover Reveal!!

I’m beyond thrilled to share the cover for TWIN DAGGERS, my debut young adult novel and the first book in a new fantasy duology set in a world of magic versus machines!!! PLUS I’m giving away a Signed ARC at the end of this post!

Twin Daggers has been a long time in the making. I began writing this book back in 2012, and it’s been that book of my heart, the between-contracts-guilty-writing-pleasure ever since. In short, I adore this story, these characters, this fantasy world so very much and it’s lived in my head for a very long time. I’m so grateful that this book will finally be out on bookshelves and to all those who’ve had a hand in bringing it there (in particular my agent Suzie Townsend and editor Hannah VanVels!).

Thanks so much to Blink YA and designer Faceout Studio for crafting a phenomenal cover to kick off this new series. It perfectly captures the idea of magic versus technology that’s at the core of the book and so many other fantastic elements. The machinery motif! The daggers that represent the main characters! The swooshes of magic! I love how dynamic the design feels too, how it evokes a feeling of perpetual motion. As an author, seeing your book cover for the first time is one of the best/scariest things, and they did such an incredible job – my jaw dropped when it appeared in my inbox! I hope you love it too!

So without further ado……

 

 

 

 

……

 

 

 

 

…..

 

 

 

 

…..

 

 

 

 

…..

 

Twin Daggers Cover

About the Book

Aissa’s life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they’re on a mission for revenge. 

This action & adventure spy thriller—a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly—is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession!

By day, Aissa and Zandria play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless, and kidnap her. Born without a working heart, the Heartless survive with a mechanical replacement.

Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she’s never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties—and missions—and deciding whether or not it’s worth risk everything on getting help from her sworn enemies.

Win a Signed ARC of TWIN DAGGERS!

The giveaway will run from today through midnight EST Saturday November 30, 2019 and is open internationally. One winner will be selected. Good luck!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

THE STAR SHEPHERD Release Day

I’m beyond thrilled that The Star Shepherd is finally out in the world this week! It’s such a special story and I’m so proud I’ve had the chance to be part of this project, co-authored and illustrated with Dan Haring. The Star Shepherd is about a boy and his dog, stars and family, saving the world and finding one’s own path. I hope you love it as much as we do!

“Readers will relish this fantasy with high suspense and clever plot twists. Highly recommended.”

-School Library Connection

THE STAR SHEPHERD

Neil Gaiman meets How to Train Your Dragon in this beautifully illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy, his trusted dog, and his best friend, as they race to save the stars before their light is extinguished for good.

When the world first formed, the night was black and filled with dark creatures. The Elders knew their people couldn’t survive under such a threat. So they gave their hearts to the sky in the form of stars to keep evil away.

Now, eleven-year-old Kyro is a Star Shepherd like his father. He’s spent his life tucked away in the small town of Drenn. There, the family watches the night sky for falling stars―and rushes to rescue them when they do.

When too many stars start falling at once, and disappearing before they can be saved, Kyro’s father journeys to report the threat. But when he doesn’t return, Kyro, with the help of his best friend, Andra, and his trusty dog, Cypher, must find a way to save the stars before the dark creatures make a terrifying return.

AVAILABLE NOW!
amazon bn indiebound indigo bam powells googleplay  

 

 

Join Dan Haring and I as we celebrate the launch of The Star Shepherd! Events will include reading, Q&A, book signing, and general revelry. 🙂
Monday, 9/16/2019, 7pm
Anderson’s Bookshop
Naperville, IL
Saturday, 9/21/2019, 3pm
Porter Square Books
Cambridge, MA

HOLLOW DOLLS Cover Reveal

I’m so excited to share the cover for HOLLOW DOLLS, the first in a new duology set in the same world as SHADOW WEAVER! As I’ve talked to readers over the past couple years, many have asked to know more about Simone, the mind reader. She was one of my favorite supporting characters in SHADOW WEAVER and I can’t wait for you to read her story too.

Thanks so much to Sourcebooks art director Nicole Hower and artist Erwin Madrid for crafting a fabulous cover to kick off this new series. I just love how it captures so many elements from the book – the mystery, the hint of magic, and the library setting. I hope you love it too!

Also, I’m running an ARC giveaway on Twitter today – RT to enter! (Open internationally and ARCs will be mailed when I receive them in June).

So without further ado……

 

 

 

 

 

 

HOLLOW DOLLS

Available January 1, 2020 

How can you keep secrets, when someone’s in your mind?

Simone is a mind reader. She knows a great many things about everyone she meets, but she can’t seem to remember anything about her past or where she came from. After finally being free for the first time in a long time, she sets off, determined to find her home.

When she stumbles across a man with two minds inside him – the real one, shoved deep down, and one of a body walker, someone who can take over a person’s body against their will – Simone is even more eager to leave her old life behind.

As Simone dives deeper into her history, she learns truths she never could have imagined. But when those she loves start disappearing around her, Simone knows only she can stop the evil.

Set in the same fantasy world as the Shadow Weaver duology, this series starter weaves a tale of secrets, power, magic, and the long path to home.

PRE-ORDER NOW
amazon bn indiebound indigo bam

BIRTHDAY BASH GIVEAWAY 2019!

May is upon us! Granted, it’s been a bit colder and rainier than usual so far, but I have high hopes for the rest of the month. May is my favorite. It finally starts to get warm, everything turns green, and of course, it brings my birthday (today!).

It also brings my annual tradition of throwing a little party here on ye olde blog to celebrate! And what’s a party without gifts? This year I’m giving away an ARC of THE STAR SHEPHERD, the illustrated middle grade fantasy I co-authored with Dan Haring! It won’t be out in stores until 9.10.19, but you can enter the giveaway for a chance to read it early 😀

The giveaway will run from today through midnight EST Wednesday May 22, 2019 and is open internationally. One winner will be selected. So, grab a slice of cake, put on a party hat, and enter to win. Good luck!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comet Rising Release Day!

I’m so excited that Comet Rising, the sequel to Shadow Weaver, is finally out in the world today! This is the conclusion to a story that I’m so proud of, and I just can’t wait for you to find out what happens to Emmeline, Dar, Lucas, and their new friends. 

I can’t thank the amazing teams at Sourcebooks and New Leaf Literary enough for all their work on this series and tireless efforts behind the scenes, especially my editor Annie Berger and agent Suzie Townsend. You’re all amazing and I’m so grateful I get to work with you!

And dear readers, thank you so much for reading this series – I hope you enjoy Comet Rising!
 

BUY THE BOOK:

Comet Rising is available through any of these retailers:

amazon bn indiebound indigo bam powells googleplay kobo

UPCOMING EVENTS:

Comet Rising Launch Party – with Special Guest Monica Tesler (Bounders Series)!
Friday, January 4, 2018 @ 7pm
Porter Square Books
25 White St
Cambridge, MA 02140